AADCAP is composed of the heads of child and adolescent psychiatry divisions and seeks to aggressively promote the field of academic child and adolescent psychiatry.

Welcome to the American Association of Directors of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AADCAP). The goal of our organization is to support division chiefs/directors in and outside of the United States in their administrative efforts to coordinate and maintain clinical, educational, and research priorities. AADCAP  accomplishes this by providing opportunities for continuing education . . . read more
D. Richard Martini, MD 

RENEW: 2021 Membership Dues
Payment Options
Transferring to PayPal may take a moment. If you do not have a PayPal account, please click "Pay with Debit or Credit Card."

Attn: Emeritus Members
Please complete this very short resume if you're interested in mentoring a new division chief:

2021 Spring Meeting
Virtual via Zoom
Thursday, April 29, 2021
12:00 - 3:00 pm ET
View videos
on the meeting's page 
Telehealth in the
Post-COVID World

AADCAP Statement Addressing Racism

As representatives and leaders of the American Association of Directors of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AADCAP), we express grief, anger, and sorrow over the deaths of George Floyd, Breona Taylor, and Ahmaund Arbery at the hands of law enforcement. Racism has been a persistent and malignant undercurrent in American society, and violence against minorities is part of this picture, particularly for African-Americans.

Our responsibilities as medical professionals include recognizing the tragic consequences of racism and working tirelessly to correct them. We realize inequities exist in the access to and the quality of healthcare, something that was particularly evident in the spread and consequences of the recent COVID epidemic. We must raise awareness about this issue, take action to ensure that the care we provide is sensitive to race and culture, and work to eliminate discriminatory practices in hospitals, clinics, and communities. We must also ensure the provision of non-discriminatory medical and psychiatric services by encouraging diversity among our clinical staff. In the process, we will better understand the patient’s experience, allow the patient and family to better identify with their caregiver, and encourage greater confidence in the treatment process. Among our responsibilities is the training of child and adolescent psychiatrists and future medical health professionals. We hope to instill the same sense of accountability for these principles in the patient care they provide now and in the future.
The events of the past few days tell us that there should no longer be different standards that exploit and victimize minorities in this country, whether through law enforcement and the justice system or by medical providers in the healthcare system. The American Association of Directors of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry promises to oppose all forms of racism and be accountable for programs and policies that promote diversity, inclusiveness, and respect for racial and ethnic differences.

D. Richard Martini, MD
AADCAP President

Tami Benton, MD
AADCAP President-Elect

Victor Fornari, MD
AADCAP Past President

The Washington Post Jobs and Company Culture
Children’s mental health badly harmed by pandemic. Therapy is hard to find.
John Diamond, MD interviewed by The Washington Post:
August 14, 2021
Media Assets : NPRShots:
How A Hospital And A School District Teamed Up To Help Kids In Emotional Crisis
NPR, 6-minute radio recording
June 11,2021 

Becker's Hospital Review Logo
'Overrun with kids attempting suicide': Children's Colorado declares state of emergency 

Doug Novins, MD and his team at Children's Hospital Colorado
Becker Hospital Review
May 26, 2021 

Media Assets : NPR
N.Y. Hospital, Schools Aim To Improve Kids' Access To Mental Health Provider

Victor Fornari, MD and his team at Cohen's Children's Medical Center
NPR (6-minute radio recording)
May 26, 2021 

Homemade Biscoff Cookies (Speculaas) Recipe
How one hospital is making a difference for kids with mental health issues

Today Show
May 19, 2021 

Examining Our COVID-19 Response: Using Lessons Learned to Address Mental Health and Substance Use Disorders

U.S. SENATE COMMITTEE ONHealth, Education Labor & Pensions
Tami Benton, MD testifies in the U.S. Senate Committee on Health, Education Labor & Pensions' full committee hearing on Examining Our COVID-19 Response: Using Lessons Learned to Address Mental Health and Substance Use Disorders
April 28, 2021 

For Some Teens, It's Been a Year of Anxiety and Trips to the E.R. The New York Times - Breaking News, US News, World News and Videos
February 23, 2021

During the pandemic, suicidal thinking is up. And families find that hospitals can’t handle adolescents in crisis. 
The New York Times 
February 23, 2021 

NPR logoJanuary 25, 2021

D. Richard Martini, MD interviewed on NPR: 
(click on "7-Minute Listen")
A year into the pandemic, emergency rooms nationwide are seeing a rise in kids experiencing mental health crises. Educators and doctors are concerned that many of those kids are turning to suicide. 

HealthDay:  Michelle Obama Says She Is Suffering From Depression
Former First Lady Michelle Obama 

Michelle Obama mentioned:
August 6, 2020

PsychologyToday.com: Living on Automatic

Living on Automatic
by Christine B.L. Adams, MD
"Evaluating People by the Content of Their Character"
"How to Have Daily Therapy With Yourself During Quarantine"
"Evaluating People "by the Content of Their Character”
"Sources of Emotional Illness" 

National Suicide Prevention Hotline:
Logos of the FCC | Federal Communications Commission

FCC designates 988 as 3-digit number for National Suicide Prevention Hotline:
Action Will Help Combat Rising Suicide Rates by Making It Easier for Americans in Crisis to Obtain Assistance from Trained Counselors. 

 Educational Fund: DONATE!
Support our educational activities 
(i.e. quality speakers and more)
Please make a tax-deductible contribution today
by completing this
 form or contacting
the Executive Director at info@aadcap.org. 

Latest AADCAP Newsletter: Winter 2021


Mary Lynn Dell, MD
Medical Director, Psychiatry and Behavioral Health, Children’s Hospital New Orleans, LA
Mary Margaret Gleason, MD
Division Director, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Eastern Virginia Medical School, Norfolk, VA
LaKisha Mamon, MD
Section Chief, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Louisiana State University HSC, New Orleans, LA
Rebecca Rendleman, MD
Interim Director, Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Weill Cornell Medicine, New York, NY
Saundra Stock, MD
Chief, Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, University of South Florida, Tampa, FL
Lauren Swager, MD
Division Chief, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
West Virginia University, Morgantown, WV